Trilix AI vs. Ruby
Looking for a Ruby receptionist alternative, or deciding between live receptionists and an AI phone agent? Ruby is a long-running virtual receptionist service. Real people answer your calls 24/7, and you pay for a monthly block of receptionist minutes, from $250 for 50 minutes up to $1,725 for 500 (Ruby pricing).
We build custom AI phone agents for multi-location operators, so we're a competitor here. Ruby does a good job at what it sells, and this page is honest about when it's the better pick.
Checked October 30, 2026. Features and prices change, so confirm details with each vendor.
Quick answer
Ruby is a live virtual receptionist service priced by minutes, from $250 a month for 50 minutes to $1,725 for 500, with 24/7 coverage and bilingual answering available. It suits calls that need a human voice. Trilix fits better when you run several locations with high call volume and want an AI agent tied to your POS and reports.
Side by side
13 points compared
Who answers
Live receptionistsAn AI agent, with transfers to your own staffHours
24/7, including after-hours, weekends and holidays24/7Pricing model
Monthly minutes: 50, 100, 200 or 500, with larger…Setup fee plus monthly, not tied to minutesPublic pricing
Yes$250 to $1,725 a monthNoQuoted after a callSetup fees
None for activation, onboarding, setup or…One-time setup fee
The short version
Ruby gives you a team of trained receptionists who answer in your business name, take messages, book appointments, collect payments and transfer calls. Every plan has the same features. The only thing that changes is how many minutes you get (Ruby pricing).
Trilix AI builds an AI agent for each of your locations, connected to your POS, scheduler, cameras and reports, and audits the calls for you. There are no minute limits to manage. It's a setup fee plus a monthly fee, quoted after a call.
Side-by-side
| Feature | Ruby | Trilix AI |
|---|---|---|
| Who answers | Live receptionists | An AI agent, with transfers to your own staff |
| Hours | 24/7, including after-hours, weekends and holidays | 24/7 |
| Pricing model | Monthly minutes: 50, 100, 200 or 500, with larger plans on request | Setup fee plus monthly, not tied to minutes |
| Public pricing | Yes. $250 to $1,725 a month | No. Quoted after a call |
| Setup fees | None for activation, onboarding, setup or customization | One-time setup fee |
| Languages | Spanish and bilingual answering available | English by default; others tested on your calls before launch |
| Scheduling | Yes | Into your scheduler where it allows a connection |
| Payment collection | Yes | Depends on your systems; ask us |
| Transcripts and call insights | AI-powered transcripts and sentiment analysis | Transcripts, summaries and scheduled call audits by our team |
| Website chat | Yes. Separate chat plans from $143 a month | Messaging agents built per client; ask us |
| HIPAA | HIPAA-compliant services offered | BAA in scope for clinic builds |
| Connected to POS, cameras and store reports | Not stated | Yes. Wait times from bays or POS, calls on the executive dashboard |
| Per-location call flows | Not stated | Yes. Each store gets its own hours, prices and transfer rules |
"Not stated" means we didn't find it on Ruby's public pages. Ask Ruby directly.
Ruby pricing (checked Oct 2026)
| Plan | Price a month | Receptionist minutes | Works out per minute |
|---|---|---|---|
| 50 minutes | $250 | 50 | $5.00 |
| 100 minutes | $395 | 100 | $3.95 |
| 200 minutes (most popular) | $720 | 200 | $3.60 |
| 500 minutes | $1,725 | 500 | $3.45 |
Source: Ruby plans and pricing. The per-minute column is our own division of Ruby's listed price by its minutes. Ruby says there are no extra fees for setup, onboarding or coverage at certain times, and that optional AI enhancements come with every plan at no extra cost. Chat is a separate plan: 10, 30 or 50 chats a month for $143, $335 or $520, or 20% less when added to a receptionist plan. Ruby's pricing page doesn't show what happens when you go over your minutes, so ask.
Example calculation: one busy store
Say a store gets 30 calls a day, each about 2 minutes, open 26 days a month. That's about 1,560 minutes a month. Ruby's largest listed plan is 500 minutes, so a store like that would need one of Ruby's larger custom offerings. Multiply by every location you run. These numbers are an example, so swap in your own call count and average call length from your phone system.
Ruby's minute pricing makes the most sense when call volume is modest and every call is worth a human voice. Once volume climbs, AI answering usually changes the math. Our AI receptionist vs staff cost calculator lets you run it with your own numbers.
What Ruby does well
Ruby's pitch is people. Callers talk to a trained receptionist, not a menu, at any hour. Its pricing is simple, every plan has the same features, and it doesn't charge setup or onboarding fees (Ruby pricing). It also handles bilingual calls, payment collection, intake and outbound calls, and it can host your business phone number.
Its industry pages focus on legal, home services, business services, healthcare and financial services, which tells you who it's built around: professional firms where each call is a client relationship.
When Ruby is the better choice
- Every call needs a human. Law firms, financial advisors and private practices where the caller expects a person.
- Your call volume is low to moderate. A few hundred minutes a month fits Ruby's listed plans.
- You want no setup project at all. Ruby doesn't charge for setup, and you don't need to connect any systems.
- You need Spanish or bilingual answering now. Ruby lists it as available around the clock.
When Trilix fits better
- You run several busy locations. Each store gets its own agent with its own hours, prices and transfer rules, and the cost isn't tied to minutes.
- Callers ask about your operation, not just your hours. Our AI phone agent can read live wait times from camera analytics or your POS, and book into your scheduler where it allows a connection.
- You want calls in your reports. Calls show up on the executive dashboard next to car counts and ticket averages.
- Nobody has time to manage it. We audit calls on a schedule and fix answers as part of the monthly fee. At a multi-store quick lube in Texas, a second AI reviews calls every 2 hours during shop hours.
Not sure which camp you're in? Our AI receptionist guide compares voicemail, live answering, self-serve AI and custom AI side by side. If you run a repair shop, the AI receptionist for auto repair shops guide covers the calls to test first.
What to ask any vendor
- What happens when a location goes over its minutes or calls? Is it a per-minute charge, an upgrade or a cutoff?
- How is a minute counted: talk time only, or hold and transfer time too?
- Can each location have its own greeting, hours, prices and transfer numbers?
- Does it book a confirmed slot in my system, or take a message for my team to call back?
- Which of my systems can it connect to, and how?
- Who reviews calls after launch, and how often?
- Can I export all recordings and transcripts if I leave?
Frequently asked questions
Something else on your mind? Ask us directly or call 416-262-2723.
How much does Ruby cost?
Ruby lists four receptionist plans: 50 minutes for $250 a month, 100 for $395, 200 for $720 and 500 for $1,725. Larger plans are available on request (Ruby pricing).
Does Ruby use AI?
Ruby's answering is done by live receptionists. Its pricing page lists AI-powered transcripts, sentiment analysis and AI-assisted call flows, and says optional AI enhancements come with every plan at no extra cost.
Does Ruby charge setup fees?
Ruby says there are no extra fees for activation, onboarding, setup, customization or coverage at certain times.
Is Ruby a good fit for auto shops or other multi-location businesses?
Ruby's industry pages focus on legal, home services, professional services and healthcare. It can answer for any business, but at high call volumes minute pricing adds up across locations, so run your real numbers first.
What's the difference between Ruby and an AI receptionist?
Ruby puts a person on every call and charges by the minute. An AI receptionist can answer several calls at once and connect to your systems, with your staff taking the calls that need judgment.
How much does Trilix cost?
A one-time setup fee plus a monthly fee for hosting, call audits and changes, quoted after a first call. The AI cost guide explains what drives the price.
Keep reading
- AI receptionistWhat an AI receptionist does, what it costs and when a custom one is worth it.
- Smith.ai alternativePer-call AI and live receptionists vs a connected phone agent.
- AI voice agent vs answering servicePublished per-minute and per-call prices, and when to keep humans.
- AI receptionist for auto repairA buyer's guide for repair and tire shops.
- AI receptionist vs staff costCompare a front-desk hire with an AI voice agent, using your numbers.
Hear it on your own phone line
Tell us how many locations you run and your call volume. We'll set up a demo for your stores.
Also see: Trilix vs Smith.ai · Trilix vs Rosie
Spotted something out of date? Email admin@trilix.ai and we'll fix it.